Posted in Science & Technology

Why I don’t recommend the Paleo Diet for autoimmune conditions like Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis

Did you know there are 4-Stage of Healing Hashimoto's? Find out what stage you're at here: https://hashimotosdoctor.com/wb4stagesofhealing

Though a great diet for some, the Paleo Diet or paleolithic diet can be very problematic for those with Hashimoto's thyroiditis that are hypothyroid.

This can also have an impact on people struggling with weight loss and other autoimmune conditions like Graves' disease (commonly referred to as hyperthyroidism), a hyperthyroid condition that is also autoimmune.

The aip protocol or Autoimmune Paleo Diet may be a better alternative.

Continue Reading...
Posted in Science & Technology

The Problem With the Paleo Diet Argument

The Paleolithic period represents just the last 2 million years of human evolution. What did our bodies evolve to eat during the first 90% of our time on Earth?

Subscribe to Dr. Greger’s free nutrition newsletter at https://www.nutritionfacts.org/subscribe and get a free recipe from his new HOW NOT TO DIE COOKBOOK. (All proceeds Dr. Greger receives from the sales of his books, DVDs, and speaking engagements go to support the 501c3 nonprofit that runs NutritionFacts.org.)

For more on the absence of Western diseases in plant-based rural populations, see for example: • One in a Thousand: Ending the Heart Disease Epidemic (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/one-in-a-thousand-ending-the-heart-disease-epidemic/) • Dr. Burkitt’s F-Word Diet (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/dr-burkitts-f-word-diet/) • Cavities and Coronaries: Our Choice (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/cavities-and-coronaries-our-choice/)

I’ve touched on “paleo” diets in the past (with more to come!): • Paleo Diets May Negate Benefits of Exercise (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/paleo-diets-may-negate-benefits-of-exercise/) • Paleolithic Lessons (http://nutritionfacts.org/video/paleolithic-lessons/) • Will The Real Paleo Diet Please Stand Up? (http://nutritionfacts.org/2014/09/23/will-the-real-paleo-diet-please-stand-up/)

Have a question for Dr. Greger about this video? Leave it in the comment section at http://nutritionfacts.org/video/the-problem-with-the-paleo-diet-argument and he'll try to answer it!

http://www.NutritionFacts.org • Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/NutritionFacts.org • Twitter: http://www.twitter.com/nutrition_facts • Podcast: http://nutritionfacts.org/audio/ • Subscribe: http://http://nutritionfacts.org/subscribe/ • Donate: http://www.NutritionFacts.org/donate

Continue Reading...